top of page
EO About Face pc Becca Duggan.jpg

In Depth:​

Evan Oberla is an artist, musician & composer based in New Orleans with a naturally dynamic sound arriving at an intersection between catchy melodious themes and instantaneous adventurous improvisation, all the while maintaining a fresh soulful groove.

Hailing from a diverse musical career of jazz, funk, pop, avant garde, brass bands & roots music, this natural performer emanates a style at once familiar to the ear yet uniquely his own.

With his new single, "Press Start," Evan is setting his course for new territories that are built upon the vastness of his own musical history and experience. Through this process he is on his way home, finding expansion in the slightest of movements, the breadth of which is being brought to life with his band, the GROW. 


The GROW is found by heeding the inner world, and musically based upon the roots of Evan’s trombone imbuing the sound’s melodic sense and song structure. Through conscious interplay, the GROW's key goal is converging to find the music of the now.

Expect a big warm feeling from Evan and the GROW stemming from connection and authenticity, combined with an incredible group of musically gifted artists, with years of friendship, experience, and intuition at the core of this colorful melded sound.

Bands & Records & Things:

Growing up in Columbus, OH, Evan began his life long relationship with music early, plucking pitches that he heard in his head and finding them on the upright piano in the living room. After graduating with a jazz studies degree in trombone performance from Ohio State University, Evan has built his career in local scenes and on the road playing with a plethora of bands, traversing the country playing shows, festivals and making recordings.

He has put out a handful of albums of original music with various outfits over the years,​ including Eyope, EOP, RFG Quintet and now his self titled endeavor, with his cast of bandmates taking on the moniker of the GROW.

A short list of artists and bands he has shared the stage, the road, and recording studio with include: such as O.A.R., Allen Stone, Elle King, Brass Lightning, Miss Mojo, Mike Dillon, Flow Tribe, Sexual Thunder!, Wyclef Jean, Eric Krasno, Spoon, Rashawn Ross, Jeff Coffin, Billie Davies, Iris P, Andrew McMahon, Kelly James, Mojoflo, G. Finesse, Columbus Jazz Orchestra, Beethoven Found Philharmonic Orchestra, Dierks Bentley, Cris Cab,

Soja, Walk the Moon and many more.

Evan is an endorsing BAC Custom Horn artist, uses JH Audio In-Ear Monitors, and plays with an AMT P808 microphone.

Selected Discography:

"Press Start" (single) (2023) - Evan Oberla 

"dualTINTcollection" (2022) - Eyope

"Just My Luck" (2022) - avner

"Horizon" (2022) - Miss Mojo


"Recalibration Salutations" (2021) - Evan Oberla

"The Source" (single) (2021)- Evan Oberla

"Realign" (single) (2021) - Evan Oberla

"Consonance" (2021) - Brass Lightning

"Prism"(single) (2020)  - Eyope

"Organic Structures" (2020) - Evan Oberla

"Kick It" (single) (2020)- Evan Oberla

"The V. Tet - Octagami" (2020) - Tom Witek

"Miss Mojo @ the Parlor" (2019) - Miss Mojo

"Elevation" (2019) - Eyope

"Triste" (2019) - Geovane Santos

"Bonobo Bonobo (2018) - Mike Dillon

"Love In Time" (2018) - Miss Mojo

"Perspectives II" (2018) - Billie Davies Trio

"In Spades" (2017) - Afghan Whigs

"Be Easy" (2017) - Retrofit

"Boss" (2017) - Flow Tribe


"Pleasure to the People" (2017) - Sexual Thunder

"Brass Lightning EP" (2017) - Brass Lightning

"Kiss The Ring" (2017) - Organized Crime

"XX" (2016) - O.A.R.

"On Hollywood Boulevard" (2016) - Billie Davies

"The Sample Platter" (2015) - The Most Infamous


"Hand in Hand in the Hand of the Moon" (2015) - Billie Davies Ensemble


"The Rockville LP" (2014) - O.A.R. (Of A Revolution)


'All For You' (2014) - Sheldon Jevon


'614 the Kids: A Not so SIlent Night' (2013) - Music Loves Ohio Compilation CD 


'HERE' (2013) - EOP


'A Thousand Steeples' (2013) - Hebdo


'N.S.E.P.' (2013) - G. Finesse & the NS


‘Live On Red Rocks-Live Album/DVD’ (2012)- O.A.R. (Of A Revolution) 


‘Mixtape’ (2012)- Jared Mahone 


“Don’t Talk Back’ Vinyl (2011) - The Regrettes


‘May Your Vice Be Nice’ (2011) - RFG Quintet


‘Home to You b/w Dance’ 7″ Vinyl (2011) - Mojoflo


‘Whatcha Think About That?’ (2010) - Mojoflo


'Beat Down and Broken' (2009) - Stretch Lefty


‘Waiting’ (2009) - Mojoflo

bottom of page